Happy Birthday to my Pets


Yes, yes.  I know.  How silly.  But here it is: my favorite kitty cats in the entire world are a year old (actually, they turned one about a month ago, maybe 2 or 3 weeks ago).  They are a year old to me, because it was one afternoon one year ago, that a mama cat decided she trusted us enough to bring my family three of her five kittens.  The other two would not obey her call, and she was not interested in going back for them.  two days later, on June 18, we had just come back from a baby shower, and Mama still would not feed the other kittens left behind in the barn across the street (we live in town, the house was abandoned).  So I went over there, and after much heartache got the other two captured and, while they would never admit it, saved.  One of them, in fact, is still very nervous with me.

But the cute-hearts are a year old.  What a year it has been.  I realized that I have to smile every day at least once, because every time I look at them, I am reminded of how cozy, sweet, and downright hilarious they are.

So, allow me to (potentially) bore you with my kitty family.

Mama Catt – I know.  Original name, right?  She has been called that for the last couple years of her neighborhood stray life, and knows it.  Kind of.  She is very sweet, and every time I think of how she was betrayed, my heart rises.  There was no reason to leave her.  She is the best female feline I have every pet.  Her knead is unlike any other cat’s.  She vibrates as she kneads, and it gives a tickly sort of massage sensation.  I’ve thought about opening up a shop, and charging two bucks a massage, but PETA would have things to say about that.  :)  She is now completely indoor, and shows little inclination to return to her previous state.

Fiddle – “My good boy”.  He is my cat, and believes that I am his person “with every fiber of his being”. I think of him as my Bolt cat, and an example of the previously unknown species called a “puppy cat.”  We play this game called “Come Get Me.”  He literally chases me around until I stop.  I then give him a pet, and we start all over.  While I have not yet completed the work of training him to sit (it’s a lot harder to do with six than with the one we had before), his desire to please me and my family goes above and beyond that of many a pure-blooded canine.

Dilly – Oh, boy.  Dilly is another “puppy cat.”   If you could imagine a wonderful, spunky friend who likes potato chips just that little bit too much, and then make him a cat, Dilly would be that cat.  Dilly rolls over to get us to pet his tummy (um, a behavior never before seen in previously owned kitties).  Dilly sits on the piano keyboard when I’m working diligently on Moonlight Sonata to get attention, while simultaneously biting my music and throwing it everywhere.  Dilly is just a “regular chum”, and a “jolly good fellow” of a cat, and I love him very dearly.

Pipes – Okay, another person in a cat analogy.  Sorry, folks.  Mr Darcy from Pride and Prejudice.  He is kind; to those who deserve it.  He is quiet, and you can’t touch his heart easily, but when you do, you find it is soft, and good.  Well, folks this is Pipes.  Unlike Mr. Darcy, she is a girl, and a dear heart.  But she is very aloof, and considers herself above many of our visitors.  However: fear not, Miss Lizzies of kitty-admirers.  She has the refined air that must “displease some, and appear proud”, while you may come to say “but I have seen nothing of it.”

Java – Ooh, he is a grand one.  Black sleekness.  Only thing, he is loud.  He caterwauls like you’ve never heard before (unless, of course, you happen to be outside while a kitty courtship is hitting off somewhere in the neighborhood).  He is  “sticky”, that is, once he is enjoying you petting and talking to him, there is no way he’s going anywhere quickly.  He loves people, but spends far too much of his time attempting daring escapes into places he doesn’t belong.  Other names we have considered as better ones for him were Yamaha (piano company), Suzuki (another piano company, and important name in the musical pedagogy world), and Houdini.

Cookie Do – Perhaps, it might be Cooky Do Do.  No, she really is very sweet when she wants to be, but is still very spooked of people after the whole rescuing incident (she and Java were the ones left behind.  Java’s over it.  Cookie is not.)  She loves my mom, and spends all morning running to and from the stairs, looking and waiting for her to come upstairs for family worship time.  It’s really a pretty sight.  Mom sits in the same chair every morning with her iced OrganoGold coffee, with Cookie Do on her lap.  But as for me, Cookie is not always on my radar screen.  She is definitely Mom’s cat.  :)

1 Comment

Filed under knit

One response to “Happy Birthday to my Pets

  1. O Polly – this post is brilliantly heartwarming. =) Seeing all those adorable kitties, melts my heart. <3 Happy birtday to the red cardinal! ;)

Leave a Reply

