The Big Reveal…


About 1 1/2 months ago, I said that my birthday gift made me bouncy.  And that it had to do with Jane Austen.  No, it is not a basketball with an image of Keira Knightley (the ditzy actress who played Lizzy Bennet in the 2005 production of Pride and Prejudice) on it, or some other goofy thing like that. :)

I received a pattern and some gorgeous brown fabric (this white fabric is a test run) for my birthday to make a regency gown!  This is what the pattern looks like:

The things I’m doing differently are somewhat obvious.  I am not doing the overlay, and am raising the neckline about 1 1/2″.  I know that they were low back in the day, but I feel uncomfy in necklines this low, so am raising it.  The last thing is that I am not doing the funny (green in the picture) bow sewn into the high waist.  There will be a sash like the one (that you can’t really see) in the right picture.  I actually almost finished it, but, having made a large error, took out a whole bunch of stitches to correct it. :(

I learned some new stuff (I haven’t really sewn a bunch before, just doll clothes), like how to do a curved seam.

It is sewn for shaping, and it wasn’t too hard… just a little time consuming, and I LOVE!!!! the way it looks, it’s very gentle and feminine.

After I make this one, I will work on the ball gown.  If I don’t get that one done by January, I will wear this one to the ball that I may be fiddling for, but it isn’t great…it’s just a test run. :)

Well, the soap dish/bonsai pot post should be the next one…until then, ♥

2 Comments

Filed under blogging, historical crafts, sewing

2 responses to “The Big Reveal…

  1. Sophia

    *squeal of delight* I LOVE it, Polly!!! =D That would definitely make me bouncy, too. ;) I would love to see it in person some time. =)

  2. Sarah McD.

    Coming along nicely, Polly dear. I can’t wait to see the finished project! What fun!

Leave a Reply

